9 UNC scientists elected as fellows in a prestigious national science association

Nine UNC scientists have been named as 2012 fellows in the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The group’s members are elected to the title of fellow by their peers for advancing science applications deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

The new fellows come from the College of Arts and Sciences, the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and the School of Medicine.

They are Howard E. Aldrich, Charles W. Carter Jr., Robert J. Duronio, Michel R. Gagne, Alan M. Jones, Ann G. Matthysse, Lishan Su, Kevin M. Weeks and Yi Zhang.

They will be presented with an official certificate and a pin for their accomplishments at the association’s annual meeting in February.

With the addition of these fellows, UNC now has 67 among its faculty.

Share on social media?

Comments powered by Disqus

Please note All comments are eligible for publication in The Daily Tar Heel.

2016-17 March Madness Preview by The Daily Tar Heel

Print Edition

Print Edition