The Daily Tar Heel
Printing news. Raising hell. Since 1893.
Friday, April 12, 2024 Newsletters Latest print issue

We keep you informed.

Help us keep going. Donate Today.
The Daily Tar Heel

Students choose Congress members

Forty-one new members of Student Congress were elected to serve in the 2010-11 legislative branch of student government on Tuesday night.

Congress allocates money through an annual budget process and throughout the year during the subsequent appropriations process. Congress allocated about $364,000 during the 2009-10 annual budget.

Members must serve on one of the following committees: ethics, finance, rules and judiciary and student affairs. Congress meets weekly.

Congress Winners

District 1: North Campus: William McKinney Brown IV, Elizabeth Cooper and Habib Maya

District 2: Middle Campus:  Dakota Williams

District 3: South Campus:   Adam Jutha, Evan Ross, Greg Steele, Daniel Peterson, Blake Aiken and Tom Schrader

District 4: Granville Towers: Deanna Santoro and Matt Oakes

District 5: Greek housing:  Luke Woodcock

District 6: Off-campus housing:  Lee Storrow, Robert Ackerman, Thomas Myrick, Scott Freedenberg, Alexander Lopez, Todd Michalske, Stephen Estes, Jared Simmons, Leah Josephson and Zachary Delarosa

District 7: Auxiliary housing:  Kristen Johnson and Chelsea Miller

District 8: Graduate:  Serena Witzke, Alex Mills, Keith Lee, Ben Danforth and James Grinias

District 9: Graduate: Carrington Skinner, Lace Leilani Wayman, Stephen David Brown, Chris Fowler and Crystal Boni

District 10: Graduate: Lisa Heimbach, Matt Skancke, Justin Roberts, Ronnie Milam and Kevin Helmlinger.

Contact the University Editor at

To get the day's news and headlines in your inbox each morning, sign up for our email newsletters.