The Daily Tar Heel
Printing news. Raising hell. Since 1893.
Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Newsletters Latest print issue

We keep you informed.

Help us keep going. Donate Today.
The Daily Tar Heel

Senate picks 8 to serve on UNC-system Board of Governors

2 members re-elected

The N.C. Senate announced eight members Thursday to serve on the UNC-system Board of Governors effective July 1.

Current members Ann Goodnight and Peter Hans, whose terms were ending this year, were re-elected. Fred Eshelman, who the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy is named after, was among the six new members elected.

The board is the overarching policy-making body for all 17 institutions in the UNC system.

Others elected were W. Louis Bissette Jr., John C. Fennebresque, H. Frank Grainger, Thomas J. Harrelson and Phillip D. Walker.

The N.C. House is expected to elect eight more members next week. The House committee responsible for the selection announced 16 nominees earlier this week.

To get the day's news and headlines in your inbox each morning, sign up for our email newsletters.