The Daily Tar Heel
Printing news. Raising hell. Since 1893.
Sunday, June 23, 2024 Newsletters Latest print issue

We keep you informed.

Help us keep going. Donate Today.
The Daily Tar Heel

UNC announces search committee for new chancellor

The University today announced the membership of the committee that will be charged with recommending a new chancellor to replace Holden Thorp. It will meet first Oct. 5

The committee will be chaired by Wade Hargrove, chairman of the Board of Trustees.

Other membership includes:

- Trustees John Townsend and Don Curtis

- Former trustee Roger Perry

- Student Body President Will Leimenstoll

- Michael Bertucci, president of UNC’s Graduate and Professional Student Federation

- Jan Boxill, chairwoman of the faculty

- Professors Valerie Ashby, Kevin Guskiewicz, John McGowan, Cam Patterson and Douglas Shackelford

- Jackie Overton, chairwoman of the Employee Forum

- Dwayne Pinkney, vice provost for finance and academic planning

- Kenneth Broun, former Chapel Hill mayor and former dean of UNC’s law school

- Eric Montross, chairman of the General Alumni Association Board of Directors and sports commentator

- Chuck Lovelace, executive director of the Morehead-Cain Foundation

- Dwight Stone, UNC alumni and president of D. Stone Builders Inc. and chairman of the Educational Foundation Inc.’s Executive Board of Directors

- Richard Vinroot, former Charlotte mayor

To get the day's news and headlines in your inbox each morning, sign up for our email newsletters.