8/26/2009 12:07am

Joining forces: Chapel Hill Police Department wise to extend University police’s jurisdiction

The Chapel Hill Police Department and University police are teaming up. And the campus and the town are safer for it.Both groups are now working closer together to help protect students and citizens alike.On July 1, University police began exercising newfound authority in the area just north of campus.The impact will probably be most felt in Granville Towers, which the University recently acquired. This is a highly concentrated student population living off campus — and prior to this agreement, University police didn’t have jurisdiction there.


8/26/2009 12:07am

Let the voters decide: Council should appoint ?fth-place ?nisher in Nov. election to ?ll Bill Strom’s seat

Bill Strom, a veteran member of the Chapel Hill Town Council, announced his resignation July 30, just after the deadline for local election filings. This puts the town of Chapel Hill in an uncomfortable position, as the council must now appoint a member to his seat instead of having it filled in the election. Whatever Strom’s motives for giving up his seat after the filing deadline, his decision makes the Town Council less democratic. There’s already one council member who is there by appointment.


8/26/2009 12:05am

Parr Center offers outlet for dialogue on campus

TO THE EDITOR: The “Special Anti-Racist Issue” that blanketed many copies of Tuesday’s Daily Tar Heel again raises a host of overlapping ethical and social justice issues that were brought to head at last semester’s incident involving former U.S. Rep. Tom Tancredo, R-Colo, beginning with free speech on campus and leading to the emotionally charged issues of racism and immigration reform.


8/26/2009 12:04am

Campus smoking policy discriminatory to gays

TO THE EDITOR: According to the peer-reviewed health journal, Tobacco Control, gays are more likely to smoke. This report concludes that “sexual minority status is associated with higher risk of smoking.”This proves just one thing: It is not a choice to smoke. Obviously, then, the right to smoke is protected by the non-discrimination policy that clearly states that the University may not discriminate based on “sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.”


8/26/2009 12:02am

Printing fake front page of DTH was waste of time

TO THE EDITOR:To the group who went to the expense of printing a fake first page for Tuesday’s DTH; You almost got the font right. Too bad you got the issue number wrong. (Insert math joke here.)If, as I presume you are, the same group that disrupted the attempted speech of former U.S. Rep. Tom Tancredo, R-Colo., I am sure all the students appreciate you wasting their money and my taxes. Tancredo was paid to do nothing, thanks to you. Way to create dialogue and support free speech.Arlene Medder Administrative Support Associate


8/24/2009 8:53pm

A taxing problem

On Aug. 7, the N.C. General Assembly mandated a $200 tuition hike for the 2010-11 school year for all UNC-system students. But no student will see the benefit of the hike on campus because the money is going right back to the state. The principle of raising money from students, many of whom already struggle to fund their education, is deplorable.  The funds generated from this tax could easily surpass $3 million from undergraduate students at UNC-Chapel Hill. 


8/24/2009 8:50pm

A new year, high standards

It should come as no surprise that Carolina students hold themselves to a high standard.And it’s imperative that student leaders and University administrators are held to the same high standard.  On the brink of a new school year, students have high hopes for our grades, social lives and student government. And making this a successful year requires hard work. But in order to see that success, it’s also up to student leaders and administrators to promote students’ interests and be held accountable for their actions.


8/24/2009 8:46pm

This year, don't be afraid to mix it up

There’s a new display in the front window of Student Stores. UNC sweatshirts hang on mannequins and attractive models sport Tar Heel emblazoned tote bags. But this one has an extra element unseen before on campus: the pictures of the factory workers who spun, dyed, sewed, silk screened, ironed and packaged the Carolina blue clothes which hang on gold hangers just inside the doors.Welcome to Schoolhouse -— a combination of style and Sri Lanka — founded by Rachel Weeks, age 24.


8/23/2009 3:07pm

Andrew Dunn

Help us serve you the best we can

Today’s paper describes the uncertainty that’s pervasive on campus and in our community.For freshmen, there’s the thrill and anxiety of moving to campus for the first time. For UNC employees, there’s the fear of losing their jobs as administrators slash budgets.Even within The Daily Tar Heel, there’s change. We debuted a revamped Web site and work flow in our newsroom. Check out page 8 to see the new features. And we’ve got a new crop of editors to boot.But don’t be uncertain about the quality of your DTH. We are back and better than ever.


8/23/2009 3:05pm

Voicing the views of our campus

The opinion page of the Daily Tar Heel plays a distinct role in the life of the University.It’s not our job to be objective (we’ll leave that up to the newsroom). It’s our job to opine on issues and events affecting the campus community.The editorial board researches and writes several unsigned editorials each day that represent its collective opinion.We’ve added a few more slots to the board this year to bring in even more perspectives to the page.


10/11/2005 12:00am

Work needed to fulfill mission

Like any good Catholic, I'll begin this column with a confession: I once thought about going to Duke. It's not that I never wanted to go to UNC - quite the contrary. For reasons that I still can't figure out, I grew up a Tar Heel fan in Yankee country. I prayed for the boys in baby blue before the '93 national championship game against Michigan, and when Chris Webber called that timeout, I was sure I had a friend in the Man upstairs.


10/11/2005 12:00am

With a degree come duties

I am honored today to be admitted to the fellowship of this ancient and distinguished University, and I am pleased to receive in the short space of one or two minutes the honor for which you spend over four years of your lives. But whether the degree be honorary or earned, it is a proud symbol of this University and this state.


10/11/2005 12:00am

As it was meant to be

William Davie "It is the indispensable duty of every Legislature to consult the happiness of a rising generation - by paying the strictest attention to their education."   Paul Green "The University is like a lighthouse which throws a beam out to the far horizons of the South, yet is dark at its own base."   John Hill


9/15/2005 12:00am

Opinion Editor justifies firing of Tuesday columnist

Might as well get to the point: I fired Jillian Bandes yesterday. And not because I thought she was a racist or an idiot. She is, in fact, neither - and even if she were, I wouldn't have fired her for those reasons. I fired her because she strung together quotes out of context. She took sources' words out of context. She misled those sources when she conducted interviews. In other words, she conducted journalistic malpractice, and that's simply not something I, or The Daily Tar Heel, will tolerate.


11/30/2004 12:00am

Learn more about your representatives from Student Congress today in the Pit

TO THE EDITOR: What is Student Congress? What does Student Congress do? Who are my representatives? How can I get involved? Today from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Pit, you can get your questions answered about Congress. The Outreach Committee of Student Congress will host Meet Your Representative Day so that you can become better acquainted with your representatives and Congress.


11/30/2004 12:00am

Future fashion is an especially tricky trend for me to predict

I think fashion is fascinating. New fashions are always a complete surprise to me. I never even have a vague idea of what they are going to be. I could probably make educated forecasts on the future of the economy, social norms and television programs - but I couldn't predict one color other than black. This is probably because I don't have the remotest fashion sense. It consists of one question: "Would women like to see me wearing this?"