The Daily Tar Heel
Printing news. Raising hell. Since 1893.
Saturday, March 2, 2024 Newsletters Latest print issue

We keep you informed.

Help us keep going. Donate Today.
The Daily Tar Heel

Christopher Everett elected as 2023-2024 UNC student body president

Christopher Everett, pictured on Polk Place on Feb. 14, 2023, has been elected UNC Student Body President for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Christopher Everett has been elected to serve as the 2023-2024 Student Body President, the UNC Board of Elections announced around 2:16 a.m. Wednesday morning.

Everett received 57.45 percent of the overall vote, defeating fellow certified candidate TJ Edwards and write-in candidate Theodore Nollert, who announced his intent to run last week. 

"I just really want this win to be for everyone who's felt so unseen, undervalued and targeted by the institutions," Everett said. "I think that's that's what my win represents. I'm just so grateful and I'm honored to share this space with so many qualified other candidates."

He said he began his campaign for student body president with the goal of building a platform that represented the community. Everett said he is excited create a space for everyone at UNC.

Edwards received 461 (11.6 percent) votes, and Nollert received 1,581 (39.78 percent), totaling the amount of votes to 3,974. The are 31,117 eligible student voters which makes the turnout 12.77 percent. For last year's election, the voter turnout was 13.72 percent. 

Other Races: 

Residence Hall Association President

Tahliyah Smalls

Carolina Athletic Association President

Christian Phillips

Rising Senior Class President and Vice-President

Lauryn Lovett & Phil Vo

Referendum: Prohibit Viewpoint Discrimination in the Appropriation of Student Fees


Undergraduate Senate District 1:

Leonardo Bennett

Rachel Haugen

Samuel Hendrix

Macy Henson

Samantha Morinville

Kelly Nguyen Rcom

To get the day's news and headlines in your inbox each morning, sign up for our email newsletters.

Taylor Nguyen

Ethelyn Ofei

Anusha Parepalli

Dean Pearce

A. Bryce Womble

14 seats remain vacant

Undergraduate Senate District 2:

Joseph Ellis

Andrew Gary

Yubin Kim

Gabriel Stanton

2 seats remain vacant

Undergraduate Senate District 3

Andrew Forbes

Robert “Tres” Guskiewicz

Sydney Jones

Maddux Vernon

Lucas Wilson

Undergraduate Senate District 4

Joshua Alexander

Corey Brandon

Damon Grim

Luke Manna

Jack McDermott

Vihit Nanduri

Troy Smith

Nicky Sodano

3 seats remain vacant

Undergraduate Senate District 5

Sophie Flynn

Lauren Langley

Ben Longo

Undergraduate Senate District 6

Saanvi Arora

Deniz Erdal

James Jessup

Christopher McClanahan

Vamsi Palukuri

Lydia Schneider

Atharva Vispute

1 seat remains vacant

Undergraduate Senate District 7

Sterline Adams

Callan Baruch

Ananya Jain

Katherine “Kate” Leonard

Undergraduate Senate District 8

2 seats remain vacant

Undergraduate Senate District 9

Maxwell “Max” Pollack

2 seats remain vacant


Special Print Edition
The Daily Tar Heel's 2024 Music Edition

More in Student Life

More in University

More in