1/21/2020 6:53pm

Kyende headshot

The odd traditions of the Nacirema: Was MLK a communist?

"My hypothesis on why Naciremans often omit Dr. King’s dissenting opinion on capitalism is due to a fear of its implications. Indeed, there has been significant progress within, and cooperation among, Nacireman tribes since the '60s. However, there is still much more that needs to be done."


1/15/2020 3:42pm

Elisa

Column: Lay off of Meghan

"The press coverage of Markle exhibits the stale conditioning of the public to regard this woman and person of color in a negative light, no matter her contributions to society."


1/12/2020 7:30pm

Editorial: A Silent Sham

"Silent Sam may not have a place on this campus anymore, but white supremacy does. Systemic racism isn’t going anywhere — UNC has always allowed it to stay, regardless of the price tag."


1/9/2020 9:21pm

Liam Bendezuclose, opinion writer. 

Column: What are your plans after UNC?

"Why is this question so hard to answer? To those oblivious to the torment of providing a decent reply, it would seem that we have the world at our fingertips. The mistake here is forgetting that while youth comes with opportunity, it also comes with uncertainty."


1/9/2020 9:20pm

bennett.jpg

Column: A very mindful holiday season

In the moments where the holiday cheer turns into rage, well-practiced meditation can give you the skills to find at least some inner peace, even while everyone else is reduced to acting savagely. 


1/7/2020 6:32pm

Abbas Hasan

Column: New decade resolutions

"Sure, I probably won’t grow 10 inches by 2030 and I don’t have middle school to look forward to anymore, but I am by no means a finished person yet. As I am sitting here writing this, just two days into the new decade, I am setting five goals for myself for the next 10 years."


1/7/2020 6:11pm

abhishek shankar

Column: The DTH is failing minorities

A recent The Daily Tar Heel article on UNC student theater over the past decade failed to mention the Black Arts Theatre Company's contributions. Abhishek Shankar denounces this decision and The Daily Tar Heel's treatment toward minority staff and their stories.


1/7/2020 5:50pm

Opinion writer Rajee Ganesan poses for a portrait. Photo courtesy of Rajee Ganesan.

Column: 2020 STEM predictions

If 2019 was any indication of the way science is advancing, it’s likely difficult to predict anything for the upcoming year. Nevertheless, here are Rajee Ganesan's top three predictions for science, technology and policy in 2020.