1/15/2019 8:20pm

Jackogrady.jpeg

Column: My RA was unjustly fired

My RA was one of my closest friends on campus. UNC feels like less of a home for me without him on my floor. I believed in UNC’s commitment to my First-Year Experience, an experience that my RA was essential to creating and one that the administration actively damaged by removing him, especially in such a drawn-out, confusing way. 


1/15/2019 1:00am

Illustration by Savannah Faircloth

Editorial: Folt's chance for redemption

"Carol Folt has played one of the biggest hands in the defamation of UNC, but she now has a chance for redemption in the following months."


1/9/2019 10:44pm

Maya Little speaks before a shouting crowd during a protest against Chancellor Carol Folt and the Board of Trustees' proposal for Silent Sam's relocation in the Peace and Justice Plaza on Monday, Dec. 3, 2018. 

Editorial: TA strike took advantage of students

"For this group of TAs to decide, after their last paycheck had been delivered, to hold the grades of their students hostage to make a statement is a cowardly move."


1/8/2019 8:36pm

silent sam

Guest Column: Bury Silent Sam

"It is time to make amends and the first step is to shout loud and clear ‘never again.’ It is time to demonstrate to those near and far that lux, libertas means doing the right thing, especially if it is difficult. So, yes, abide by the law but let us use our wisdom and creativity to do so in a way that affirms all of the Carolina Community."


1/8/2019 8:29pm

claude smiling.JPG

Column: Borders and violence

“'The Wall' that Trump and the Republican base have rallied around should be understood as a symbolic project representing their worldview rather than a feasible policy proposal." 


1/8/2019 8:06pm

elisa kadackal.jpeg

Column: Resolutions matter

"Whether you’ve committed to working out five times a week or spending less time online shopping in class or eating more broccoli or traveling to New Zealand to visit Peter Jackson’s Middle Earth, (OK, I’m definitely projecting here), your goals for this year are valid and worth making."


1/8/2019 8:02pm

Ramishah Maruf

Column: Meet your opinion editor

"The opinion page is the center of the Chapel Hill community, offering a place for discussions on topics that directly affect us. It’s the soul of the paper and the community. Running that is a responsibility that Elisa Kadackal, our new assistant opinion editor, and I hold seriously."