4/21/2020 6:05pm

Kyende headshot

The odd traditions of the Nacirema: The moral of the story

"I have made sure to document their odd practices each step of the way. I am aware that the articles may at times feel over-exaggerated, paternalistic or pessimistic. This is because, out of respect, I have been doing my best to follow the same writing style that the Nacireman folk use when writing about the African continent — that is, portraying a single story."


4/19/2020 10:19pm

The Old Well pictured on Monday, March 23, 2020.

Editorial: Thank you, UNC professors, faculty and staff

There is always time to hold the University accountable for its missteps, but right now the Editorial Board wants to express our gratitude to everyone involved with supporting students and the greater UNC community. In these unprecedented times, it is comforting to know that our community will still be the same resilient, supportive community until we (eventually) return.


4/16/2020 9:59pm

Opinion writer Michael Beauregard.

Old North State stories: April 1865

In April, the Confederacy lost its capital, its two largest armies, its last hopes for legitimacy and President Abraham Lincoln, who was arguably the only Republican in Washington who didn’t want to wreak complete hellfire upon them. 


4/14/2020 6:50pm

Opinion writer Rajee Ganesan poses for a portrait. Photo courtesy of Rajee Ganesan.

Column: How (not) to handle a pandemic

"With the rapid changes and uncertainty surrounding the coronavirus, making decisions is challenging. However, politicians should primarily consider scientific evidence, listen to  experts and prioritize the health of the public when planning for the future."


4/14/2020 5:47pm

bennett.jpg

Column: Dear UNC class of 2024

"In ways that my first year wasn’t, the hardships of the class of 2024 may be so commonly felt that they can lean on each other for support in ways that other incoming classes couldn't. Paradoxically, social distancing may create a stronger community than ever before."


4/13/2020 7:18pm

Ryan Smoot

Column: Practicing mindfulness in times of fear

"Fears are as biological as any virus, simple byproducts of evolution and our environment. We all carry them with us — whether it’s a fear of dying, loneliness or forgetting to mute while Zooming on the toilet. But I truly believe, even for someone as anxious as I’ve been in my past, that we can control the extent to which our fear consumes us."


4/9/2020 9:26pm

A group of residents enter the West building at Granville Towers amidst two incidents of vandalism and verbal racial harassment that are now under investigation. The two incidents involve the defamation of Chinese New Year door decorations.

Op-ed: How COVID-19 has affected UNC's class of 2024

"I fear that I will miss out on the significant milestones in this new chapter of my life. Living away from my family, experiencing the difficulty of college classes and making lifelong friends, for instance, will all be shadowed by the influence of this virus."


4/6/2020 12:00am

Liam Bendezu, opinion writer. 

Column: Your negligence could kill my mom

The crisis seems abstract and difficult to imagine. For people with elderly family members or family members with preexisting conditions, the threat of the coronavirus exerts a very real pressure and imprints fear on day-to-day life. My family is one of them; my mom is immunocompromised. 


4/2/2020 9:42pm

Opinion writer Michael Beauregard.

Old North State stories: North Carolina on the home front

"Over the past several weeks, grocery store shelves have been completely cleared of toilet paper, paper towels, hand sanitizer, meats and non-perishable goods, creating an atmosphere of scarcity. Similarly, during World War II, North Carolinian families faced scarcity due to wartime rationing."